Established in 1945, Camp Monahan owes its birth to scouting. In 1941, A.G. (Bert) Morris, then the scoutmaster of Scared Heart troop, discovered Sheep’s Point on an overnight trip with the scouts. Liking the spot, he took his troop for a two-week camping trip. Soon, inter-parochial camping developed with Bert Morris as Camp Chief and Monseigneur Anthony Gocki acting as Chaplain, business manager and swimming instructor.
Archbishop Monahan was so impressed by a report about this camp for Catholic youth, that he decided it should be purchased. The guide and scout camp evolved into a children’s camp in 1945 and was subsequently named “Camp Monahan”.
In 1948, the Knights of Columbus took over sponsorship and a comprehensive camping program was set up - improved access, dining hall, and 10 cabins for campers and six for leaders and the construction of a chapel, boathouse and diving tower.
A craft hall was opened in 1962 and in 1975 the Archdiocese funded an Olympic-size swimming pool. In 1981, the Camp Monahan Association, a non-profit corporation, took over operations.
Since the '80s, the camping experience has remained much of what it was originally intended - fun, excitement and challenge in a Christian atmosphere with a few additions:
- Renovations to the existing craft hall to become the dining hall/kitchen facility, dedicated to Monseigneur Gocki
- Our Lady of Sorrows church from Fort Qu’Appelle was moved to Lakeshore in two sections - a craft hall and staff/camper cabin
- Introduction of co-educational camping, Scamper Camp for 6-7 year olds and mini-camp for first-time campers
- New leadership, junior and senior canoe programs for 13-14 year-olds
- New cabins constructed in 2015 & 2016
It's estimated that over 15,000 campers, staff and volunteers have worked hard to make Monahan special. It's undeniable spirit burns bright and keeps campers and staff returning year after year.